Oracle Database and GI are certified on OL8 and RHEL8

No worries, this isn’t a blog post from the vault. And I haven’t accidentally published something from the past just today. It is real. Oracle Database and GI are certified on OL8 and RHEL8.

Oracle Database and GI are certified on OL8 and RHEL8

Photo by Derek Oyen on Unsplash

What has been certified?

Thanks to my colleagues and a large customer in the UK, I received an email asking whether I have seen this information already on MOS. I haven’t. I knew that there were discussions but I had no actual date for the certification on OL8 on my radar.

So in brief, these Linux 8 releases have been certified for Oracle Database and Grid Infrastructure

  • Oracle Linux – OL 8 Update 2+
    • Minimum kernel version:
      Unbreakable Enterprise kernel: 5.4.17-2011.1.2.el8uek.x86_64 or Red Hat Compatible kernel: 4.18.0-193.19.1.el8_2.x86_64
  • Red Hat Enterprise Linux – RHEL 8 Update 2+
    • Minimum kernel version:

Database Certification Information

As usual, you can query this information by yourself on MyOracle Support. Just hit the Certifications tab and search for “Oracle Database”, Release “” and the Linux 8 release you are looking for.

This will get you to either this page for Oracle Linux:

Or this page instead for Red Hat Enterprise Linux:

Real Application Clusters certification information

In case you search for RAC and GI, please use this search criteria:

This will guide you for instance to this page:

Please pay also attention to the ACFS MOS Note: 1369107.1 – ACFS Support On OS Platforms (Certification Matrix).

Finally …

Please be very aware of the end of Limited Error Correction Support for Oracle Database on March 31, 2022 – 15 weeks from the day I publish this blog post.

Further Links and Information


Share this: